Manchester City announced the signing of Allan Elias from Palmeiras on 31 August 2026, on a five-year contract that ties him to the club until the summer of 2031. The statement is on the official site, bylined Jonathan Smith and dated Monday 31 August at 13:00. The move is done, in the club’s own words, subject to international clearance. There is exactly one number inside that text, and it is the length of the contract: no fee, no currency symbol, never the word million. The name of Sávio, who left for Tottenham six days earlier, does not appear at all.

The deal at a glance

ItemDetail
PlayerAllan Andrade Elias, 22, born 19 April 2004 in Florianópolis
PositionRight winger per the club, which then adds midfield, second striker and full-back
FromPalmeiras
ToManchester City
ContractFive years, to the summer of 2031
FeeNot declared by either club
ConditionTransfer complete subject to international clearance
Announced31 August 2026, 13:00, Manchester City statement
First-team appearances96 across 2024/25 and 2025/26, with 9 goals (City’s own table)
Senior capsNone
ExecutiveHugo Viana, official title Director of Football
ManagerEnzo Maresca, the only coach named in the statement

The statement carries one number, and it is not the fee

City write that Allan “has signed a five-year contract that will take him through to the summer of 2031”. That is the only quantitative fact the club commits to paper.

On the cost the announcement is silent, and not with a polite formula either. We checked the full text: zero occurrences of the pound sign, zero of the euro sign, zero of the word million, zero even of undisclosed, the word English clubs reach for when they want to say a fee exists without printing it. The single time the string fee appears anywhere on the page, it is inside the address of a tracking pixel, which is to say in the code rather than in the prose.

None of that means there is no price. It means nobody has declared one, and anybody putting a figure on it is reconstructing. The most explicit source is Goal: “The club did not disclose the player’s transfer fee, but it is reported the uncapped winger arrives in a deal worth an initial £32m, with the potential for a further £2m in performance-related add-ons.”

The trouble is that the reconstructions do not agree with one another. There is £32m plus £2m in add-ons (Goal, ESPN), 40 million euros split into 37.5 plus 2.5 in one ESPN analysis piece, around 47 million dollars at Al Jazeera, and £34.2m, which is 32 up front plus 2.2 in add-ons, at SportsMole, at TNT Sports, in the agency copy carried by Yahoo and in the encyclopaedic tables. Four numbers for one transfer, not one of them written by anybody who signed it. The only honest way to carry the fee is in the conditional: it would be somewhere around £32m plus add-ons, and it is a press reconstruction until a club says otherwise.

City do not sign a right winger: they present four jobs

This is the part the headlines trimmed. The statement says Allan “plays predominantly as a right winger but can also play in midfield or as a second striker and has even featured at full-back for the Brazilian League leaders”.

Right winger is the first of four entries, not the only one. In its accompanying feature City quote Rogério Ferreira, Palmeiras’ former academy chief: “He’s been playing mainly as a right winger since he was promoted to the first team, but he was a No. 10 [behind the striker] most of the time in his youth career.”

And straight afterwards, Ferreira again: “He can easily also be a [box-to-box] No. 8, and work on both wings.” Outside observers landed in the same place. The ESPN analysis is headlined “Why Man City’s move for Allan Elias gets them a winger, midfielder and defender”. Three labels for one footballer, and not one of them contradicts the club.

From futsal in Florianópolis to the Palmeiras youth No. 10 shirt

The route, as the club tells it in the Boy from Brazil section, starts a long way from grass. Allan Andrade Elias, to give the full name, was born on 19 April 2004 in Florianópolis, which City describe as the surfing paradise of southern Brazil. He started at seven playing futsal for Clube 12 de Agosto, joined Figueirense at fourteen, and was then spotted by Palmeiras at a tournament in Minas Gerais. From there came the move to São Paulo, where he lived on his own with the No. 10 on his back.

One point of vocabulary is worth fixing, because English coverage tends to blur it. Calling him a Palmeiras academy product is only half true. Developed by Palmeiras, yes, and decisively so. Raised there from the start, no: the first two stops carry other names.

With the under-20s he scored 17 goals and added 4 assists before stepping up. The senior debut came in a 2-0 win over Portuguesa, the first goal against Mirassol on 23 February 2025, a decisive strike in a 3-2 away win. As a boy he was nicknamed Little Balotelli for the bleached mohawk, a haircut he had in fact copied from Neymar rather than from the Italian.

The first-team numbers are the club’s, and the total going round is not

At the foot of the statement City publish a table with the two senior seasons: 2024/25 at Palmeiras, 54 appearances, 3 goals, 8 assists; 2025/26 at Palmeiras, 42 appearances, 6 goals, 6 assists. That adds up to 96 games and 9 goals: the same 96 appearances reported by Al Jazeera, which publishes no goal figure at all, and the same 9 goals as the agency copy carried on Yahoo.

The assist column is where two sets of books circulate that do not reconcile, and both are worth seeing. Plenty of pieces print 12 assists, and the BBC and Goal publish that 12 directly, alongside the 96 appearances and the 9 goals. The agency copy uses another formula, “96 first-team appearances, including 21 goal contributions across all competitions”, and taking the 9 goals out of the 21 does land back on 12. But the club’s own table gives 8 plus 6, which is 14 assists, so 23 goal contributions rather than 21: the two counts do not tally, and there is no telling which was derived from the other. When two counts diverge you do not pick one in silence: here we use the official season-by-season table.

The two matches the club puts in the shop window

The games City choose to highlight are not picked at random. The first is the Copa Libertadores semi-final of 30 October 2025: after losing 3-0 in Quito to LDU, Palmeiras won the second leg 4-0, with Allan providing the assist for the opener for Ramón Sosa and, in the closing minutes, winning the penalty that completed the comeback. The second is from 23 May 2026 at the Maracanã, where Palmeiras beat Flamengo 3-0 in a ground where they had not beaten them since December 2015, more than ten years: an assist for the first goal, and the second scored himself.

The context is not that of a club selling because it has to. Palmeiras top the Campeonato Brasileiro Série A and are in the quarter-finals of both the Copa do Brasil and the Copa Libertadores. After his first full season Allan won the Bola de Prata as the breakthrough player of the year, a prize whose recent winners include Estêvão and Endrick.

The words the club used to introduce him

Hugo Viana, whose official English title is Director of Football, speaks in the statement: “We watched his progress in Brazil and saw a player that thrives in the big moments and works hard for the team with a superb attitude.”

The player, for his part: “This is a surreal moment for me.” And then: “Now the hard work begins. I will give 100% in training and make the best case possible to the manager I should be playing.”

One detail deserves pinning down, because it sits in the primary source and is regularly got wrong elsewhere: the manager named in the statement is Enzo Maresca, mentioned twice, and no other coach appears in the official text. The club then place Allan in a queue: “He follows in the footsteps of Elliot Anderson, Jeremy Monga, Gerónimo Rulli and Ayyoub Bouaddi”, the four previous arrivals of this window. Four names, not five. And there is the other queue, the line between Palmeiras and the Etihad: Vitor Reis in January 2025 before him, and Gabriel Jesus back in 2017.

Sávio’s exit is a fact, documented by both clubs on the same day: City published “Savinho signs for Spurs” on Tuesday 25 August 2026 at 10:00, Tottenham “Sávio joins from Manchester City” on the same date. Six days before Allan arrived.

There too the financial half does not exist in writing. City say only that Savinho has agreed a permanent transfer, Spurs announce the signing and stop there. Al Jazeera put it plainly: “Both clubs confirmed the transfer on Monday, but the financial details and length of contract were not disclosed.” The day of the week does not line up, though: Al Jazeera writes Monday, while both statements are dated Tuesday 25 August.

The numbers circulating on that sale belong to Sky Sports, which attributes them to itself: “Sky Sports News understands Spurs will pay an initial £75m for the 22-year-old, with a further £10m available in add-ons”, adding that 5 of those 10 million are effectively guaranteed, for a receipt that on that reconstruction reaches at least 80. Writing 75 and leaving it there understates the sale.

On the playing record, by contrast, the two clubs say exactly the same thing, which is rare: 84 appearances and 7 goals across two seasons, written identically on both official sites, with the FA Cup and the Carabao Cup won in the last of them. Even the name shifts depending on who is writing. Tottenham use Sávio with the accent, as do their sporting director Johan Lange and head coach Roberto De Zerbi, while City kept calling him Savinho.

The word replacement, though, is not one either club writes. The announcement of Allan never names Sávio, and the ESPN tactical piece does not cast him as anybody’s stand-in either. The press writes it, and writes it as fact: ESPN’s news story of 24 August has “Allan is set to replace Savinho in Enzo Maresca’s squad”, while TNT Sports and the agency copy call him “a direct replacement for compatriot Savio”. What can be said without forcing anything is the shape of the two moves placed end to end: out goes a touchline specialist, in comes a player the club itself describes with four positions and no senior caps. City have not swapped a winger for a winger. They have swapped a function for a range.

What is not confirmed

The fee, first of all. Neither club has put a number in writing, on Allan’s arrival or on Sávio’s departure, and the estimates do not match one another. The add-ons are uncertain too: Goal puts them at 2 million pounds, while anybody reaching a 34.2 total is counting 2.2.

The signing count is another. ESPN and Al Jazeera write that Allan is the sixth arrival of the summer, but the club does not say so and names four, while one press list reaches nine across the whole window. It stands up as journalistic bookkeeping, not as a club figure.

Then the replacement reading, discussed above. And the length of Sávio’s Tottenham contract: the five years doing the rounds are a press reconstruction, since the Spurs statement gives no length at all and Al Jazeera put in writing that the detail was not disclosed.

What to watch now

Three things, in order of time. The first is the formality: the transfer was announced subject to international clearance, and the first signal will be the registration going through.

The second is the position, and it is the real question of the deal. A player introduced as a winger, a central midfielder, a second striker and a full-back at a push can become two different things: the owner of a shirt, or the solution dropped in wherever the week demands. The answer will come from where Maresca first sends him on, not from the statement.

The third concerns Palmeiras, who lose a starter while top of their league and in the last eight of two cups. A club in that position does not sell to raise cash. It sells because a number arrived, and that number will stay unknown until one of the two clubs writes it down.

Sources: Manchester City statement of 31 August 2026, which gives the contract length, the wait for international clearance, the four-entry position description, the season-by-season appearance table and the words of Hugo Viana and of the player; the same club’s accompanying feature for the youth career, the nickname, the award and the quotes from Rogério Ferreira and Lucas Andrade; the Manchester City and Tottenham Hotspur statements of 25 August on Sávio’s exit, both without a fee and without a contract length, the second carrying the 84 appearances and 7 goals; Al Jazeera for the confirmation that the two clubs disclosed no financial details; Goal for the reconstruction of the purchase fee, declared as such in the text; Sky Sports for the reconstruction of the sale, attributed to its own newsroom; ESPN for the position, for the count of summer signings and, with TNT Sports and the agency copy, for the replacement reading; the BBC and Goal for the 12-assist total in circulation; public archives for the biographical details and youth clubs; Wikimedia Commons for the photograph. Quotes are given verbatim in English, the language in which they were spoken.

Topics
TransfersAllan EliasManchester CityPalmeirasPremier League
Frequently asked questions

Frequently asked questions

How much did Manchester City pay for Allan Elias?

Nobody has said. The City statement carries no currency symbol and never uses the word million. Goal report that the club did not disclose the fee, and that the deal is understood to be worth an initial 32 million pounds with a further 2 million in performance-related add-ons. Other reconstructions disagree with each other, from 40 million euros to 34.2 million pounds: read all of them as press estimates, not as club figures.

What contract has Allan Elias signed?

Five years, running to the summer of 2031. It is the only numerical detail of the deal that Manchester City put in writing in their statement of 31 August 2026, alongside the note that the transfer is complete subject to international clearance.

What position does Allan Elias play?

The club say he plays predominantly as a right winger, then immediately add that he can also play in midfield or as a second striker, and that he has even featured at full-back. Rogério Ferreira, the former Palmeiras academy chief quoted by City themselves, remembers him as a No. 10 in the youth teams and says he can also do a box-to-box No. 8 job on either flank. Calling him only a right winger is narrower than the source.

Is Allan Elias a replacement for Sávio?

ESPN, TNT Sports and the agency copy all write it, but neither club does. City's announcement of Allan never mentions Sávio, and the ESPN tactical analysis does not present him as the stand-in for one specific player either. What is verifiable is the order of events: the Brazilian left for Tottenham on 25 August, Allan arrived on 31 August.

How many games did Allan Elias play for Palmeiras?

Ninety-six appearances and 9 goals across two first-team seasons, according to the official table at the foot of the City statement: 54 games, 3 goals and 8 assists in 2024/25, then 42 games, 6 goals and 6 assists in 2025/26. The figure of 12 assists doing the rounds, printed by the BBC and by Goal too, does not match the table in the statement, which adds up to 14.

Has he played for Brazil?

No. He arrives in Manchester with no senior caps: Goal describe him explicitly as an uncapped winger, and the public records list none. With Palmeiras he did win the Bola de Prata as the breakthrough player of the season, an award whose recent winners include Estêvão and Endrick.